Interview with Jordan Marcotte – Prophetic Musician Series

I’d like to introduce you to a friend of mine, Jordan Marcotte. Jordan is an Intercessory Missionary and Worship LJordan Marcotteeader with the International House of Prayer in Kansas City, Missouri (IHOPKC). I actually got to know Jordan while we were both helping lead worship at a small local house of prayer in his hometown in Kansas. Jordan has faithfully served in the local house of prayer as a worship leader and a musician, giving glory to God and singing for an audience of One. From there, he was able to serve as a watchman on the wall in the night as part of IHOPKC’s Nightwatch and Fire in the Night internship. He now serves as a full-time intercessor and musician at IHOPKC, on teams with both Misty Edwards and Audra Lynn. I was able to speak with him recently and pick his brain about his experiences in leading in the house of prayer.

 

Sierra: So, Jordan, tell us – Why are you at IHOPKC? How did you get here?
Jordan: I came to IHOPKC in the Fall of 2009 for the Fire in the Night internship – previous to that time, I was a first year college student on a full-ride scholarship, striving to try and please everyone around me. I found myself depressed and that’s when I surrendered to the Lord and got led to IHOPKC. I’m here because I’ve been called as a messenger and to serve the prayer movement; plus, I have spiritual heritage in Kansas City.

Sierra: I know the feeling. I feel like many of us here in the house of prayer have gone through similar struggles and seen the Lord’s kindness leading us in the midst of it. There is definite joy in living the surrendered life! When did you feel the call to leading worship?
Jordan: I felt the firm call to lead worship the night of New Year’s Eve (’07) – I received a prophetic encounter with the Lord that I ran with for about three years until I reached IHOPKC. During my internship, the Lord affirmed that word through a word that was given through Bob Jones before I was born. In that moment, there was no doubt in my mind that I was meant for something bigger than I knew.

Sierra: I know that many of us have really enjoyed the songs that have been the overflow of your years of worship leading. Describe your songwriting process. What do you draw from?
Jordan: Song writing for me can happen through several processes – I always tell people that there are natural ‘soul and heart responses’ that can occur at any moment. It could be the reply to a specific life situation or circumstance; it could be a chorus that drops into your spirit or a chord progression that you can’t stop playing. I do like to sit down from time to time and challenge myself by sitting there and writing a song, but probably 90% of my songs come from a place of ‘not trying’ and just allowing the song to come about the way it will. Songs are like Christmas morning for me – I never know how or when they’re going to come but I’m always excited when they do.

Sierra: I love that metaphor and I have to agree! That is some great insight and it really is the kindness of God that He gives us great gifts and we just get to receive. Alright, Jordan – I just gotta say, you do everything, man! You not only sing and play with Audra Lynn and Misty Edwards, but also serve as a worship leader here at IHOPKC. Describe how you prepare for a “harp & bowl” set.
Jordan: Simply enough, when I approach the platform for any reason, I really aim to commune with Holy Spirit and ask the Lord what’s on His heart for that specific set. We do so many sets a week that it can become pretty mundane but I believe that the Lord has a direct purpose for every single two hour set we do. So, if that’s the case, no matter what my current circumstance or feeling is, I press in to have real partnership with Jesus. That alone will project through your playing, singing or leading.

Sierra: How do you choose what songs to play?
Jordan: It’ll vary between a worship with the word set or an intercession one – Personally, when I lead a Worship With the Word set, I enjoy doing slower more meditative and/or contemplative songs that leave us really focusing on a testimony about Jesus or a specific attribute. During an intercession set, I like to lift up simple but strong anthem driven corporate worship songs.

Sierra: That makes a lot of sense and I have noticed while playing that many worship leaders here seem to share that approach. Do you plan out everything you are going to play, or just “feel out” what the Spirit is doing?
Jordan: I definitely don’t plan out everything – I believe it is wisdom to go on prepared. It’s just like any other war, you train hard, get equipped and go on the field with your arsenal prepared but more times than none, there’s always a moment where you have to improvise. In a worship leader’s case, we could go on stage with a complete set and often times successfully complete it as planned, but there are always those situations where the Spirit leads you in a specific direction and in that moment, it’s always best to feel out and follow.

Sierra: That is a great way of putting it. I like to look at practice and planning as tilling the soil so it is ready for Him to bring the rain, but knowing that when rain falls it’s going to flow wherever it flows. For those of us who haven’t necessarily had those kinds of experiences though  – what key piece of advice would you have for someone seeking to learn how to lead/play prophetically?

Jordan: Simple – Have a personal relationship with the Lord, incline your ear, listen, speak (through song or melody).

Sierra: That is a great answer – such a simple concept but an important one. Your background is in a small local house of prayer in the city where you grew up. What advice do you have for those who are leading in this setting? What are some challenges you faced in this setting, and how did you overcome them?
Jordan: If I could give any advice it’d be to never give up. It seems so simple but I can remember all the times that I wanted to quit because I didn’t think it was as significant. Be encouraged though, a big platform and a lot of people doesn’t make ANYTHING more official or more significant and that’s one thing I came to realize. I was a 19 year old often leading a room of two people with no team on a Friday night. During my sets I would always tell the Lord, “Surely there’s something better I could be doing on a Friday night, but here I am, Lord!” and in those moments I would feel the presence of God so strong because I knew what I was doing really mattered to Him. I overcame by surrendering my agenda, serving and believing that He heard me. I’m now a board member and still labor – just because I’ve received ‘promotion’ doesn’t make where I started a place of the past, I still fight alongside those in my local HOP.

Sierra: One of our favorite sayings here at IHOPKC – if you don’t quit, you win. What would you say is the most important thing to consider as a prophetic musician/prophetic singer/worship leader?

Jordan: If you’re pressing to be a prophetic anything, listen and listen closely but respond accordingly.

Sierra: What do you look for in a worship team member?
Jordan: The first thing I look for is if they’re an actual worshipper. I don’t want the hot-shot musician and the world class vocalist – if they don’t worship, it won’t work in the long run.

Sierra: Amen and amen – you cannot give what you do not have. Alright, time for one of my favorite topics. What are your current jams? Do you draw on secular music or limit yourself to Christian? Why? What would you say to a young musician when choosing a standard for music to listen to?
Jordan: People limit ‘worship leading’ to just the Christian world, but truth be told, there are both Christian and secular worship leaders. Music is the language of our culture – it’s where we learn doctrine, it’s how we make ourselves ‘feel good’ and it expresses culture and a way of living. You can’t mix streams; therefore, you have to be violent with what you feed your ears. For me, I don’t feel limited by not listening to secular music, I actually feel motivated to storm Heaven for the greater sounds and melodies. As a young singer/musician, secular radio, MTV, BET and all these artists are not your standards, Heaven is =) So, always be honest, be you and fill your spirit with eternal doctrine and truth. As far as my current jams, here’s a list of bands/artists I dig: Rick Pino – Royal Tailor – Jimmy Needham – Audrey Assad – United Pursuit Band

Sierra: Great insight. It is not an easy choice to make, but I have yet to find a person who regrets it, myself included. Alright, now for some fun questions. What is your favorite passage to study for a “worship with the word” set?
Jordan: If I had to pick a passage, I’d either go with something from Song of Solomon or scripture with language about the Good Shepherd – Psalm 23, John 10.

Sierra: Amen to that! How about your favorite topics to sing about?
Jordan: I can sing about intimacy ALL day – I also thoroughly enjoy singing about His leadership.

Sierra: Favorite song you have written?
Jordan: That’s a hard question because each song came from an individual place but if I had to pick one, I’d say “Good Shepherd” from my first album ‘The Door’ – The song is the anthem for my life.

Sierra: Now for one of my favorites – tell us your favorite moment/memory from worship leading?
Jordan: My favorite moment would be when I first started in leading in this little youth room in Topeka, KS. During a service, my sister Whitney got baptized with the Holy Spirit with the evidence of speaking in tongues.

Sierra: That sounds like a powerful moment indeed. Ok – it wouldn’t be an interview without this question, and I’m mostly asking it because I know the answer already – what is your most embarrassing moment while on a set?
Jordan: I don’t have many real embarrassing moments on sets quite yet but I can remember the first time I got asked to sing in the Prayer Room, I was nervous as could be and was walking up the back stairs with my gallon water jug in one hand and my huge bible in the other, feeling completely unprepared and shaky, my flip-flop slipped off my foot on the second stair and I fell HARD up the stairs and dropped both items in hand. It was a great way to begin my IHOPKC singing career, hah!

Sierra: Ha ha! That story never gets old. Thanks for joining us, Jordan. I’ve enjoyed hearing your insight on these topics and I am sure many others will be blessed as well.

For more from Jordan Marcotte, be sure to follow him on twitter (@JeyMarc) and facebook (Jordan Marcotte Music) and check out JordanMarcotte.com
For more interviews with IHOPKC worship leaders, musicians, and singers, and to hear more about prophetic worship and the house of prayer, be sure to hit the “follow this blog” button on the sidebar to subscribe to updates from To Make His Name Known!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sierrabu.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/interview-with-jordan-marcotte-prophetic-musician-series/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks Jordan for all you do for us on Sunday morning. I enjoyed reading this.

  2. “Can we pray for you?” This is the question GOD TV has been asking its viewers over past weeks as prayer requests and family photos flood in from around the world. These will be placed on a specially constructed ‘prayer altar’ in the network’s Jerusalem studio to be prayed over by Rory & Wendy Alec and the GOD TV team during At the Altar which will air LIVE on September 12 and 13. The two days of fasting and prayer will feature UK evangelist, Nathan Morris of Shake the Nations, renowned for the Bay of the Holy Spirit Revival in Mobile, Alabama and US evangelist Roy Fields of Run with Fire Ministries, known for leading worship at the Lakeland Outpouring in Florida as well as his international ‘Revival on Tour’.

  3. […] and worship leaders in the house of prayer. For the first interview in the series, check out my interview with Jordan Marcotte. Today I am sharing part one of an interview I did with my friend and worship leader, Genevra […]


Leave a Reply

