Blessed Are They That Mourn…

Mourning. 

We deny ourselves this opportunity. We try to clean up our lives and pretend everything is alright. 

Jesus painted a different picture. In the Sermon on the Mount, He proclaimed that those who mourn are blessed, because they will be comforted. He wasn’t afraid of the mess. He wasn’t afraid of the real pain that comes with grieving, with mourning, with running in to the pain. He came here to come near to those who were broken, and to show us to do the same. 

Tonight I got news that a dear, dear friend of my family died in his sleep, taken by the cancer he has been battling for some time now. 

I am in mourning, many are. He was a very kind and gentle man who took me in and made sure I was ok while my family was crumbling, and has continued to see himself as a sort of father in my life as I’ve grown and become and adult. This man showed me the love of God. I am in mourning over losing him, though we were not super close and only talked a few times a year, he always made a point to see me when I came in to town and hear how my life was progressing. 

You will be missed. Today I mourn with this dear family as we say goodbye to a good man. 

To those of you reading this who have found this post after you lost someone close, I mourn with you also. It’s ok to lean in to the pain. It’s ok to take time to grieve. It’s ok to call someone up and ask them to sit with you, to hold you. It’s ok to be weak and to be broken in this time. Just know that you are not alone in your pain, and that there are no easy answers for why we lose the ones we love before their time. Sickness and death are horrible tragedies. Pain hurts. Jesus wept over the death of a friend. He knew He had the power to raise Lazarus, but He took time to weep with those who wept. Do not feel bad for needing someone to weep with you. I hope you are able to find someone who is understanding who will be with you in your pain.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. 

Grace and peace

-Sierra

Published in: on August 18, 2014 at 12:56 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sierrabu.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/blessed-are-they-who-mourn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

