Sometimes it’s better not to have a plan… Or is it?

Well, my readers. It’s been a while. I keep trying to come up with great series and such, and promising these things before I’ve completed them – and then this or that falls through, or life happens and I am busy, and I don’t do it. So I’m tossing that out for now. Here I am. I’m just going to start writing. I’ve left this alone for too long.

Sometimes it’s better not to have a plan. Or is it?

Plans… expectations. I’ve been thinking about this – convenient segue, ain’t it?
The terms are sort of interchangeable, at least the way I use them. In fact, I think most often I think I’ve made plans when what I’ve really done was set an expectation. I think I need to redefine these terms. At the end of the day, I think what I am advocating isn’t a forsaking of plans, but a laying down of expectations and a clear line drawn between planning and setting an expectation. Goals and plans are helpful. The expectation that I will complete something to such and such a degree within x amount of time, that always does me in. I make grand expectations and call it planning – ha! Planning is so much more. Planning involves a – what a convenient phrase – PLAN of action! Expectation is just vision casting without a roadmap.

I am tired of not accomplishing what I set out to do because of my lack of well-laid plans. Of course, we also know that there is truth to the phrase about the best laid plans of mice and men (they often go awry), but developing a plan – not just a high expectation with no course of action – is at least a starting point.

SO, that being said, perhaps instead of setting an expectation to produce great material, I will just plan to write. Some great material will come. Maybe some not-so-great material, too. But I want to be able to look back a year from now and pick out the great from the not-so-great. So instead of promising great expectations, (wow, Sierra, so many high school literary references tonight), I come here to form a plan – my plan is to engage with this place two times per week. Twice a week. Not a specific day or time. If that means that next Sunday rolls around and I crack out two separate posts in one night, so be it. That’s a two-time minimum. I am hoping that momentum will get us more than just two a week. After some time, I will catalogue what I already have. Here’s to the process, and to the plan, and to whatever ways it may go awry, and once again to the journey because I think that is incredibly important.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Published in: on January 12, 2015 at 2:13 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sierrabu.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/sometimes-its-better-not-to-have-a-plan-or-is-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

